Skip to main content

Voting in Frisco – 4 Ways to Skip Long Lines

By October 26, 2016May 20th, 2024Area Interests, Judi's Blog

Vote in Frisco- Judi-Wright-TeamPick your President in Less Time.

Finally, the Presidential elections are upon us. No matter who you’re voting for, we all want to avoid long lines at the polls.

1.  Vote Early

Getting that ballot marked early can save Frisco voters a lot of time during this election period. Early voting means shorter lines and less waiting time. According to Collin County Elections Administrator, Bruce Sherbert, the earlier you vote- the better. Even during the 12-day early voting period, lines tend to get longer as the early voting period winds down.


And don’t worry about what excuse you’ll need to take advantage of this little perk. In Texas, if you are eligible to vote, then you are eligible to vote early.

Early Voting dates: 10/24/16 – 11/4/16

Here’s a snapshot of early voting times:

Monday 10/24 –  Friday 10/28:  8am – 5pm

Saturday 10/29: 7am- 7pm

Sunday 10/30: 1pm – 6pm

Monday 10/31: Friday 11/4- 7am-7pm

General Election Day- Tuesday, November 8th 7 am-7pm

2. Bring Your ID

New laws hit the books on 8/10/16 which state that Texas voters who possess an acceptable form of photo ID are still required to present it in order to vote in person.

Acceptable forms of Photo ID:
  • Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
  • Texas Election Identification Certificates issued by DPS (Available from DPS driver license office during regular business hours)
  • Texas personal identification card issued by DPS
  • Texas license to carry a handgun issued by DPS
  • United States military identification card containing the person’s photograph
  • United States citizenship certificate containing the person’s photograph
  • United States passport


Voters who do not possess an acceptable form of photo ID and cannot obtain one due to a reasonable impediment, may present a supporting form of ID and execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration.

Forms of identification needed to present with declaration form:
  • Valid voter registration certificate
  • Certified birth certificate (must be an original)
  • Copy of or original current utility bill
  • Copy of or original bank statement
  • Copy of original government check
  • Copy of or original paycheck
  • Copy of or original government document with your name and an address (original required if it contains a photograph)

3.  Know Where to Vote.Judi-Wright-Team

Not only does early voting save time due to shorter lines, you also have more voting location choices.


According to Texas voting regulations, registered voters can cast that ballot at any early voting location within your county – you do not have to vote at your precinct location as you would on election day.

Check the early voting location list below to find one close to you.

4.  Check before you go.

Want to know which location has the shortest wait times or best day and time to vote early? There’s an app for that! At least for Collin County voters. Collin County has a new interactive Election Dashboard that makes early voting even more convenient. Simply type in an address and you’ll get early voting locations near you. Plus, you’ll also get estimated wait times and travel times. QR-Code-Collin-Voting-Judi-Wright-Team


Get to a location and find a long line? No worries! Collin County also has a nifty tool that lets you scan a QR Code at the location for convenient alternative locations with shorter lines. Now that’s a great use of technology.

Although these tools are not available for Denton County voters just yet, you can still take advantage of the interactive early voting map.

Early Voting Locations

Denton County Locations
  • Frisco Fire Station #7 – 330 W Stonebrook Pkwy., Frisco
  • Frisco Fire Station #4  – 4485 Cotton Gin, Frisco
  • Steven E Copeland Government Center – 1400 FM 424, Cross Roads
  • Lewisville Municipal Annex – 1197 W. Main Street, Lewisville
  • Justin Municipal Complex – 415 N. College Ave., Justin
  • Carrollton Public Library – 4220 N. Josey, Carrollton
  • Denton County Elections Administration – 701 Kimberly Dr., Denton
  • Timberglen Library – 18505 Midway Rd., Dallas
  • Lake Dallas City Hall – 212 Main Street, Lake Dallas
  • Highland Village Municipal Complex  – 1000 Highland Village Rd., Highland Village
  • Flower Mound Police and Court Building – 4150 Kirkpatrick, Flower Mound
  • Argyle Town Hall – 308 Denton St., Argyle
  • Pilot Point Senior Center – 310 S Washington St., Pilot Point
  • Double Oak Town Hall – 320 Waketon, Double Oak
  • City of The Colony Annex Building – 6804 Main St., The Colony
  • Corinth City Hall – 3300 Corinth Pkwy., Corinth
  • Krum ISD Administration Building – 1200 Bobcat Blvd., Krum
  • Little Elm Library – 100 W Eldorado Pkwy., Little Elm
  • Roanoke Library  –  308 S Walnut St., Roanoke
  • Denton Civic Center – 321 E McKinney, Denton
  • UNT Gateway Center – 801 North Texas Blvd., Denton
Additional information can be found at:

Collin County Elections Administrator
Phone: 972-547-1990
Phone: 800-687-8546 (McKinney)
Collin County Elections


Denton County Elections Administrator
Phone: 940-349-3200 metro
Denton County Elections


Texas Secretary of State
View TX SOS elections

Collin County Locations
  • Frisco Senior Center – 6670 Moore Street, Frisco
  • Collin College: Preston Ridge Campus – 9700 Wade Blvd, Frisco
  • Frisco Fire Station #5 – 14300 Eldorado Parkway, Frisco
  • Collin County Elections (Main Early Voting Location) – 2010 Redbud Blvd, Suite 102, McKinney
  • Allen ISD Service Center – 1451 North Watters, Allen
  • Allen Municipal Courts Facility – 301 Century Pkwy, Allen
  • Carpenter Park Recreation Ctr – 6701 Coit Road, Plano
  • Celina ISD Administration Building – 205 S. Colorado, Celina
  • Christ United Methodist Church – 3101 Coit Road, Plano
  • Collin College: Central Park Campus – 2200 W. University Dr, McKinney
  • Collin College: Higher Education Center – 3452 Spur 399, McKinney
  • Collin College: Spring Creek Campus – 2800 E. Spring Creek Pkwy, Plano
  • Davis Library – 7501-B Independence Pkwy, Plano
  • Haggard Library – 2501 Coit Rd, Plano
  • Harrington Library – 1501 18th Street, Plano
  • John and Judy Gay Library – 6861 W. Eldorado Pkwy, McKinney
  • Lavon City Hall – 120 School Road, Lavon
  • Lovejoy ISD Administration Building – 259 Country Club Rd, Allen
  • McKinney Fire Station #7 – 861 S. Independence Pkwy, McKinney
  • Melissa City Hall – 3411 Barker Ave, Melissa
  • Methodist Richardson Medical Center – 2831 E President George Bush Freeway, Richardson
  • Murphy Community Center – 205 North Murphy Road, Murphy
  • Old Settlers Recreation Center – 1201 E. Louisiana St, McKinney
  • Parker City Hall – 5700 E. Parker Road, Parker
  • Parr Library – 6200 Windhaven Pkwy, Plano
  • Plano ISD Administration Center – 2700 W. 15th Street, Plano
  • Princeton City Hall – 123 W. Princeton Drive, Princeton
  • Prosper Municipal Chambers – 108 W. Broadway, Prosper
  • Renner Frankford Library – 6400 Frankford Rd, Dallas
  • Smith Library – 300 Country Club Rd, Wylie
  • Texas Star Bank – 402 W. White St, Anna
  • Wylie ISD Educational Service Center – 951 S Ballard Ave, Wylie

About Judi Wright Team

Judi Wright/The Judi Wright Team is a real estate group specializing in the suburbs of Frisco, Plano and surrounding areas. Named the “Best Realtor in Dallas,” by D Magazine ten times and a Five Star Realtor with Texas Monthly, Judi is also Company-Wide Top performer with Ebby Halliday and the #1 Individual Agent for Ebby Halliday Frisco.

Leave a Reply